Skip to main content


Belfast Metropolitan College Governing Body

The Belfast Met Governing Body draws its membership from a wide range of backgrounds. In addition to serving on the Governing Body and sub-committees, governors give of their time to support many College activities and initiatives.

The full Governing Body meets at least six times per year, and the following committees meet at least four times annually.

  • Audit and Risk Assurance Committee
  • Curriculum, Quality and Engagement Committee
  • Human Resources Committee
  • Resources Committee

Members of Governing Body

Below are the names and governance roles of the people who were Governing Body members during 2021/22:

  • Frank Bryan, Chair of the Belfast Met Governing Body
  • Catherine Burns
  • Kate Burns
  • Amy Carr Student Governor 21/22
  • Kay Collins
  • Seamus Dawson, Chair of the Resources Committee
  • Janis Leaden, Staff Governor (Teaching)
  • Wendy Gillies (to 31 December 2021)
  • Jim McCall, Chair of Human Resources Committee
  • Kathleen O’Hare, Vice Chair and Chair of the Curriculum, Quality and Engagement Committee
  • Sam Snodden, Chair of the Audit and Risk Assurance Committee
  • Louise Warde Hunter, Principal & Chief Executive
  • Brian Wilson
  • Yvonne Murphy (from 13 January 2022)
  • Seamus McGoran (from 13 January 2022)
  • Stephen Dallas (from 13 January 2022)
  • Lauren McAteer (from 13 January 2022)

Any correspondence to the Governing Body should be sent to Gerry Crossan, the Clerk to the Governing Body, ClerkGoverningBody[AT]belfastmet[DOT]ac[DOT]uk 

Or, write to the address below:
c/o The Directorate
Belfast Metropolitan College
Titanic Quarter Campus
7 Queen’s Road

Governing Body Vacancies

Currently there are two vacancies on the Belfast Met Governing Body. Appointments require Ministerial/ Departmental ratification. The associated appointment process will be co-ordinated by the Department for the Economy and will be publicly advertised.

In the meantime, if you are interested in becoming a governor in the future, then please address any queries to the Secretary to the Governing Body on governingbodysecretary[AT]belfastmet[DOT]ac[DOT]uk[DOT]